Which building life cycle stages typically account for the largest environmental impact?

What is life cycle assessment in environmental management?

Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) is used as a tool to assess the environmental impacts of a product, process or activity throughout its life cycle; from the extraction of raw materials through to processing, transport, use and disposal.

What stages do life cycles include?

There are five steps in a life cycle—product development, market introduction, growth, maturity, and decline/stability.

What is the most critical phase in product life cycle?

Maturity: This is the most profitable stage, while the costs of producing and marketing decline. Decline: A product takes on increased competition as other companies emulate its success—sometimes with enhancements or lower prices. The product may lose market share and begin its decline.

What is life cycle assessment of building materials?

LCA examines the entire life cycle of a product, from extraction and acquisition of raw material, through energy and material production and manufacturing, to use and end of life treatment and final disposal.

What are the types of life cycle assessment?

LCA generally has four components: (i) goal and scope; (ii) inventory; (iii) impact assessment; and (iv) improvement assessment. There are three different types of LCA. They are: i) Conceptual LCA – Life Cycle Thinking, ii) Simplified LCA; and iii) Detailed LCA.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  You asked: How does climate change relate to drought?