Your question: What are the agro ecological zones of Ethiopia?

What is agro-ecological zone?

Agro-ecological zones (AEZs) are geographical areas exhibiting similar climatic conditions that determine their ability to support rainfed agriculture.

What is the meaning of ecological zones?

An ecological zone is a landscape unit that unites certain interrelated animal and plant communities (biocenosis) with a particular social formation and environmental conditions as part of an integrated system.

What are some examples of typical ecological zones?


Ecozone Area (Mkm2) Precipitation (mm/yr)
Polar-Subpolar (ice deserts, tundra) 22.0 100–250
Boreal (lichens, coniferous forests) 19.5 250–500
Temperate Midlatitudes (woodlands, forests) 14.5 500–1000
Dry Midlatitudes (grass steppes, semideserts) 16.5 < 400

How many agro-ecological zones are there in UP?

The State of Uttar Pradesh falls under three agro-climatic zones viz. Agro Climatic Zone–IV: Middle Gangetic Plains region Agro Climatic Zone–V: Upper Gangetic Plains region and Agro Climatic Zone–VIII: Central Plateau and Hills region.

What are agro climatic zones describe any 4 major agro climatic zones?

Central plateau and hill region. Western plateau and hill region. Southern plateau and hill region. East coast plain and hill region.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  Do Boots Opticians recycle old glasses?

How are agro climatic zones determined?

Determining agro-climatic zones (ACZs) is traditionally made by cross-comparing meteorological elements such as air temperature, rainfall, and water deficit (DEF).

Why is it important to identify different agro-ecological zones in South Africa?

The highly variable agroecological zones in the region make it a suitable production area for a wide variety of crops. A number of food crops are cultivated by smallholder farmers with the economic, social, and nutritional importance varying from one agroecological zone to another.

What are agro-ecological zones in South Africa?

Agro-Ecological Zones (AEZ) for Africa South of the Sahara (SSA) were developed based on the methodology developed by FAO and IIASA. The dataset includes three classification schemes: 5, 8, and 16 classes, referred to as the AEZ5, AEZ8, and AEZ16, respectively.

What are the 3 zones that ecologists study?

Levels of organization in ecology include the population, community, ecosystem, and biosphere.

What are the major factors which are considered for classification of agro-ecological zones?

The essential elements in defining an agro-ecological zone (or cell) are the growing period, temperature regime and soil mapping unit.

  • Growing period. …
  • Thermal regime. …
  • Soil mapping unit. …
  • Land resource inventory. …
  • Land utilization types and crop adaptability.